Headshot of Peter Moe in front of evergreen tree

Peter C. Moe
Arboretum Director

Peter C. Moe has been the Director of the University of Minnesota Landscape Arboretum since September 16, 2016.

Prior to being named Director, Moe was Director of Operations and Research at the Arboretum since 1991. He is a graduate of CFANS and, along with his role at the Arboretum, he has been an instructor in the Department of Horticultural Science.

"Moe's expertise is in working in rare plant conservation and the evaluation and selection of plants for the northern United States," says Brian Buhr, Dean of the College of Food, Agriculture and Natural Sciences (CFANS) who credits Moe as being "the common denominator as Arboretum collections have grown dramatically in size and quality."

"Along with collections growth, Pete has been at the core of land acquisitions at the Arboretum, adding forest, wetlands and farmland to showcase conservation and research for visitors. Nobody knows the delicate and vibrant balance of the arboretum better than Pete," says Buhr. 

Headshot of Alan Branhagen

Alan Branhagen 
Director of Operations

Alan Branhagen is Director of Operations at the Minnesota Landscape Arboretum where he supervises capital improvements, horticulture and natural resources, plant curation, facilities, and information technology.

For over 20 years, he was Director of Horticulture at Powell Gardens, Kansas City’s Botanical Garden, and prior to that he served as Deputy Director of Resource Development for the Winnebago County Forest Preserve District in Rockford, Illinois. 

Alan received his Bachelor of Landscape Architecture from Iowa State University and a Master of Landscape Architecture from Louisiana State University with emphasis on planning, plants and design with nature. He is the author of Native Plants of the Midwest: A Comprehensive Guide to the Best 500 Species for the Garden and The Gardener’s Butterfly Book. Beyond public garden management, Alan is an all-around plantsman and naturalist, specializing in botany, birds and butterflies. He is currently creating and restoring a three-acre prairie and woodland garden around his home overlooking the Minnesota River Valley in Chaska. 

Board of Trustees Officers


Glenn Stolar*

Vice President

Kathy Persian


Patrick Bassett


Alene Sussman*


Jennifer Allen
Patrick Bailey
Michelle Brunn
Brian Buhr*
Amy Hapka
Rhonda Fleming Hayes
Neil Anderson, Ex Officio
Isabel Keating*
Karen Koenig
Wendy Lee
Bridget Levin
Zhen Zhen Luo
Cynthia MacMillan
Heather Mainella
Betsy Massie
Catlan McCurdy
Judy Morgan
Ron Olson*
Katina Peterson
David Phelps
Bernadette Piacek-Llanes
Chris Putnam
Mary Ella Pratte
Diane Shelgren*
Linda Tank
Georgia Thompson*
William H. Upjohn
Jenny Verner*

Peter Moe, Arboretum Director

*Appointed by U of M Board of Regents