Arboretum Director

Pete MoePeter C. Moe has been named Director of the University of Minnesota Landscape Arboretum, effective September 16, 2016,.

The director announcement was made by Brian Buhr, dean of the U of M College of Food, Agricultural and Natural Resource Sciences (CFANS), which oversees the Arboretum.

Moe has been director of operations and research at the Arboretum since 1991. He is a graduate of CFANS and, along with his role at the Arboretum, he has been an instructor in the Department of Horticultural Science.

"Moe's expertise is in working in rare plant conservation and the evaluation and selection of plants for the northern United States," says Buhr, who credits Moe as being "the common denominator as Arboretum collections have grown dramatically in size and quality."

"Along with collections growth, Pete has been at the core of land acquisitions at the Arboretum, adding forest, wetlands and farmland to showcase conservation and research for visitors. Nobody knows the delicate and vibrant balance of the arboretum better than Pete, and we're delighted that he will bring this experience and vision in his new position," says Buhr.

Board of Trustees Officers

Board of Trustees Officers

President John M. Bryant
Vice President Jenny L. Verner
Treasurer Linda Cutler
Secretary Alison Humphrey



Jennifer Allen

Gordon J. Bailey, Jr.*

Patrick Bassett

Armand Brachman

Brian Buhr*

Rhonda Fleming Hayes

Emily Hoover, Ex Officio*

Isabel Keating

Karen Koenig

Wendy Lee

Bridget Levin

Donald MacMillan

Heather Mainella

Betsy Massie

Ron Olson*

Marla Ordway

Kathy Persian

Bernadette Piacek-Llanes

Donald Ryks

Diane Shelgren

Glenn Stolar

Linda Tank

Georgia Thompson

William H. Upjohn


* Appointed by U of M Board of Regents